Meta Model Configuration

Configure Name and Definition of a Fact Sheet

Overview

This section gives you several options of basic and advanced configurations of your Fact Sheets. As an overview, you will see the ten different Fact Sheet Types and, their description and the defined renewal periods for the Quality Seals.

If you want to have the new colors of the LeanIX Fact Sheet types on your workspace, you will find the color codes on the picture below.

996996

Fact Sheet Settings

Clicking one of the Fact Sheet Types will lead you to the Meta Model Configuration where you are able to adapt the configurations of the Fact Sheet Type.

On this page, you can see every section of your Fact Sheet. You can select those sections by hovering on the specific area, then it will allow you to select the respective section easily. Once you select a section, you will see the configuration panel on the right side of the page. In that panel, you can adjust and configure the Fact Sheet.

You can also access the Fact Sheet settings from a Fact Sheet. To do this, go to the More actions menu in any Fact Sheet of the type you want to configure (see screenshot), and select Configuration.

Fact Sheet Name

In the Fact Sheet Name section, you have 4 options to choose from:

  1. Configuration

You can adjust the color of the Fact Sheets, Maximal Hierarchy Level, and the settings for On-the-fly creation. If you enable "On-the-fly" creation you will be able to create new Fact Sheets, as you want to add new relationships and the related Fact Sheet is not yet available.

  1. Manage Translation

Admins can alter individual fields in default and customized Fact Sheets based on the preferred languages of their users. Non-admins can also select for themselves which language to operate in LeanIX overall. There are 5 languages available, namely English, German, Spanish, French, and Portuguese. This feature is intended to make the tool more accessible and increase its speed of adoption within global operations. In this panel, you can also define what to call a certain Fact Sheet in Singular form or in Plural form.

  1. Facets Configuration

On this panel, you can select and define which facets you wish to show by default for this Fact Sheet type in the inventory filter sidebar. Once users configure their own facets via the "Manage Facets" option in the inventory, they will only see those personalized custom facets until they select "Reset to default" again.

  1. Completion Weights

The Completion weights in Fact Sheet settings will help you to do some specific adaption on the Fact Sheets Types that will help you to stay focused in regard to quality management as well contribution of new data in Fact Sheets.

By adjusting the Weights, it enables you to adapt the weight of an attribute. The higher the date, the more it will be counted into the completion of the Fact Sheet. If the value is set to "0" the attribute will be not counted into completion and the attribute will be marked with "optional" on the Fact Sheet.

Fact Sheet body configuration

By performing similar action as before, you can now quickly adjust each section of the Fact Sheet in detail.
You can toggle the visibility of certain portions of the Fact Sheet:

Add or remove subsections

You can quickly add or remove subsections by selecting a section and click on the + Add subsection button

Create or remove relations

Creating relations

In addition to creating regular subsections, you are also able to create new relations by clicking on the + Add relation button. You are then able to configure the relation based on the following attributes:

  • Target Fact Sheet type: Dropdown with all available Fact Sheet types on your workspace.
  • Multiplicity: Allows you to define the cardinality of the relation, e.g. “Many to Many” or “Many to One”.
  • Section in target Fact Sheet type: Allows you to define in which section of the target Fact Sheet type the relation should be visible.

When creating an additional relation to an already related Fact Sheet type one more attribute is required:

  • Descriptor: This allows you to provide a unique identifier to differentiate between the already existing relation, and the new relation.
304304

Deleting relations

When a relation becomes obsolete, you are able to delete this permanently from your workspace by clicking the “Delete” button on the relation configuration view. Currently, relations can not be deleted under the following circumstances:

  • The relation is part of the Naming Rule of a Fact Sheet type
  • The relation has all Fact Sheet types as target Fact Sheet types e.g. Parent/Child relation
  • The relation is a constraining relation or is constrained by another relation
  • The relation has the same target Fact Sheet type as the source Fact Sheet type

This is because the above relations currently can not be reconfigured. Further updates to the functionality aim to cover those exceptions.

646646

🚧

Deleting relations

Deleting a relation will remove the relation and all attached data from both sides of the relations. This is non reversible.

Please acknowledge that deleting fields or field values from your workspace will temporarily put your workspace in a read-only mode. No Fact Sheets can be modified while these changes are processed. Usually, the workspace should be in read-only mode not longer than 15 minutes.

Add and Delete fields or field values

Now the workspace admin has access to delete DataModel fields and field values. The admin can also create and configure fields in the Fact Sheet:

To delete a field, the admin can select the field and will see the option on the right panel as shown below:

Similar to deleting a field, the admin can also delete a field value. In the same panel, the admin can choose and proceed to delete the field value:

🚧

Attention

Please acknowledge that deleting fields or field values from your workspace will temporarily put your workspace in a read-only mode. No Fact Sheets can be modified while these changes are processed. Usually, the workspace should be in read-only mode not longer than 15 minutes.

During the read-only mode, the users will see this notification in their LeanIX workspace.

You will receive a confirmation email when you perform changes such as: deleting fields or field values. Other changes will be active immediately without an email confirmation.

📘

Information

You will receive this email when you do any changes in the configuration. This behavior is not specific to the deletion of fields inside the Self-Configuration, but works this way for all (mass) updates (Excel, GraphQL, Integrations). This is also necessary for auditing.

From the same panel, you can now reorder the field values by doing drag and drop to the desired positions.

At the end of the Fact Sheet configuration page, you can find the Unused Fields and Relations sections. The fields in this section will not be visible anywhere in the LeanIX application. This way you can hide fields in the main application without having all their data deleted and move them back to a "used" section on demand.

Apply Changes

When you are all done with configuring the Fact Sheets, you can see all the changes you just made by clicking the Show changes button. Here, you can also safely review all the changes you made before applying them.

👍

Fact Sheet Completeness - best practice

The advanced settings are a great feature to get grip on tracking data completeness and stay focused in regard to adding new data. In regard to the completeness, make sure what use case you want to deliver and what data you need to do so. Afterward set the weight of those attributes to "0" which is not needed to deliver the use-case.

To reach 100% Fact Sheet completeness be sure that you have filled out every single field in a subsection. If there is a field without data you are not able to reach 100%.


Did this page help you?