The Administration area provides a comprehensive way to manage your workspace users. As the default view, you will see a list of all users that are subscribed to the workspace, including their Name, Role, Status and Last Login. When switching between active users, open invites or requested invites, you can do so by choosing one of the sections at the top of the list.
By clicking on one of the users you are forwarded to the user details and subscription information.
Once invited to LeanIX, a user cannot be deleted. The only option to remove a user from a workspace is to set the user profile to archive. You can do so in the Administration / Users menu. Simply click on a user and open the detailed view.
A click on Archive removes the user from the workspace. Once a User is archived from the workspace only a re-invite can make the user active again.
A customer can set a user’s permission to Archived at any time, which results in the user not being able to log in to the workspace anymore. You can request to delete or anonymize user data by contacting LeanIX Support.
The following default user roles are available in LeanIX.
|Can view, subscribe to, and comment on all Fact Sheets.
|Can view, create, and modify all Fact Sheets.
|Has all permissions of a Member user and administrator permissions for a workspace.
Admins are able to set the desired role for a user during the invitation. It is possible to change the role of the user afterwards (see next section).
Please note: The Rights of the Roles are valid constantly.
The User permissions also apply to other areas/functions such as APIs and Surveys (e.g. if you send a Survey to a Viewer, this person is not able to make changes to a Fact Sheet)
People who have not yet been invited to the workspace but already have a benefit for Admins are called:
*Contacts (can respond to surveys, can be assigned to Fact Sheets by an Admin)
- Admins can assign Fact Sheets to responsible individuals without them being active users
- You do not have to invite these users to the workspace yet
- You can send a survey directly to this individual to help populate a Fact Sheet
- In the end, the Fact Sheet is filled in and the Admin can decide to invite this person into LeanIX
For Surveys, please note:
When creating a survey for Contacts, make sure that "Fact Sheet segments" are not used (directly editing fields in the Fact Sheets), as these segments will not work for "Contacts". The survey cannot be sent out to Contacts if Fact Sheet segments are included.
How to create a "Contact"
- Open a Fact Sheet
- Click on "Subscriptions"
- Add a person
- Click on "new person"
- Type in Email, first name, last name
- Save it; see result below:
-> By adding a new person, they do not become a LeanIX user automatically. You can invite them afterwards with the usual invite process / or with the blue button below
In addition to the basic User (Viewer, Member, Admin) it is also possible to create individual users with certain authorizations, we call it "customer Role".
You can create a "customer Role". You can use customer Role for e.g. MEMBER_SUPER where with that Role, you can set it as an advanced Member.
When you set the customer Role, it will automatically overwrite the permission of the default role (Admin, Member, Viewer).
Creation of other roles: Customer Role
Q: How can you create them?
A: You can create Custom Roles in the User Roles section of Administration. Please access this page for more information: Creating New User Roles
The editing of content is limited by default to the user roles Admin and Member. The Viewer can view Fact Sheets and leave comments. The Audit Trail (Last Update) shows in detail all changes with a reference to the user. This transparency should prevent misuse of the system. The (workspace) Administrator has more functions like managing user access, setting the preferred invitation process, and exporting all data to Excel. The Administrator(s) can manage the settings in the Administration area from the General tab.
Manage users with the help of SSO
Please take a look at the SSO Attribute Mapping section in the Technical Docs.
As an admin, you have the ability to view and interact with a workspace under an assumed role or user account. This feature is intended to increase productivity when configuring role & user-specific aspects of a workspace. Note that this is not a feature where an admin can view and interact with a workspace under another user account.
If you are an admin of a workspace, you should see the Switch user role option here:
From there, you can choose to view the workspace as a Member, Viewer, or Admin
This feature also enables you as an admin to switch between the Access Control Entities (ACE). When set up correctly as shown here, you will see the option to switch to ACE in the Switch user role.
Updated 3 days ago